Do I wash my eggs/refrigerate OR NOT?????

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Nurs4jc, Aug 3, 2010.

1. Nurs4jc

Nurs4jc New Egg

Aug 2, 2010
    Hello, I’m new to Backyard Chickens! I just bought a family’s chicken set up (they had to move) and I have some questions. Total I have 11 laying hens, 3 roosters, then 20 chick hens and 1 chick rooster (35 total : ) I find myself getting lost in whether it’s best to wash the eggs in warm water, then refrigerate. ON THE OTHER HAND, to not wash them (thus leaving the “bloom” on), and allowing them to sit out for up to 6 weeks, (is what I’ve read in some of the forums). WHAT do YOU do? [​IMG]

2. friskebluegills

friskebluegills Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 17, 2010
    I wash mine under cold water then refrigerate. If I'm incubating them, then that's different you don't wash them and you should keep them around 50-55 degrees. I've heard of people leaving them on the counter and sometimes you see cooking shows where they claim they bake better warm, but I don't know [​IMG]

3. darkmatter

darkmatter Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 10, 2009
    I don't wash my eggs and they sit out on the counter, if they don't get used within a couple weeks I:

[​IMG]

4. sprawli

sprawli Out Of The Brooder

May 27, 2010
    I've heard that you should wash in warm water because cold water will cause them to pull bacteria in through the porous outer shell. We just started getting eggs, but so far we don't wash them until right before we use them, but still keep them refrigerated. We're still learning, though...

5. Dora'smom

Dora'smom Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 14, 2009
    Oregon
    Darkmatter---are those pickled eggs? Do you have a good recipe you wouldn't mind sharing?

6. sekinkead

sekinkead Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 12, 2009
    Central Ohio
    Darkmatter - I would love the receipe as well.