Do marans eggs require different humidity setting?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Ban seabhag, Jan 12, 2010.

1. Ban seabhag

Ban seabhag Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 28, 2009
    Glenn HWY Alaska
    I have just set some BCMs in the bator and am a little confused about some of the info concerning hatching them. Some say they require the same humidity as any other eggs and some say dryer? What's the opinion of that? I'd like to get it right. I have never done these before.

2. lildinkem

lildinkem Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 4, 2009
    Indianapolis
    I try the dry incubation method. Start out near 60% humidity. Let it drop down into the 30's before reloading water. I like that system. Then to make sure it stays around 60% for the last 3 days

3. Katy

Katy Flock Mistress

I incubate my Marans eggs alongside my other eggs and have good hatches from them. I've never done anything different for them.

4. Ban seabhag

Nov 28, 2009
    Glenn HWY Alaska
    I do have these in the Hova right now with other eggs. (just started) I was afraid I might have to move them to the Brinsea.
    Regarding the dry method. Isn't 60 percent a little high to start? How long before you add water when it gets to 30 percent?

5. berkeleysprings

berkeleysprings Chillin' With My Peeps

6. Bluemoon420

Bluemoon420 The Rooster Queen

I did a dry hatch with some maran and welsummer eggs. The maran eggs were actually some the first to hatch. I kept the humidity between 20/30 % first 18 days then around 65/70 %.

Bluemoon

7. lildinkem

Feb 4, 2009
    Indianapolis