Do my chickens have a cold or something worse please help!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by DelawareSilkie, Sep 8, 2010.

1. DelawareSilkie

DelawareSilkie Out Of The Brooder

Sep 8, 2010
    Hello BYC forum, I am new here, just registered an hour ago, and the main reason I did so was that my new Delaware pullets I bought from Jersey and transported to Pennsylvania are showing signs of some illness ( a four hour drive). I am relatively new to raising chickens as a hobby, so I am very worried about the spread of Infectious Coryza. They sneeze sporadically, like twice in an hour at most. I checked their nasal passages and see runny, clear liquid running down, but not overbearing their beaks. They eat, scratch and walk fine. Their eyes are clear, although when I touch their beaks they shut their eyes, and when I did the same to my roosters they didn't do this, dont know if it's a gender thing.

Where I live it's very windy and dry, dust and loose dirt is basically everywhere. They're currently outside, separated from the rest of the flock, although they're a bit exposed to the wind. I gave them a dose of water-soluble tetracycline, the stuff you get from a store called Country Junction. Hopefully it's just environment related but I'm still fearful for the rest of my flock. I just purchased these Delawares (four total) four days ago, and had to separate two already due to sneezing and runny nose. The rest of my hens and roosters seem fine, although I'm still searching for signs of any trouble. Please help me.

2. DelawareSilkie

Sep 8, 2010
    Please someone help me. Any suggestions will do at this point. Delwares are a very nice, rare breed that's easy to catch and handle. They're very nice pullets and I'd hate for them to die from these cold-like symptoms.

3. NC29mom

NC29mom Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 15, 2010
    Scotland Neck, NC
    It could be viral related which means the antibiotics won't help.