Do Pekins begin laying then stop?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by crtrlovr, Aug 23, 2010.

1. crtrlovr

crtrlovr Still chillin' with my peeps

Hi there! I'm very new to ducks, but for some unknown reason answered a craigslist ad for 2 adult ducks who needed a home. They're a pair (yes, I know for certain; don't ask me how I know! [​IMG] ) The kids who had them named them Abby and Ducky after 2 characters on NCIS. [​IMG] The ducks were approximately 1 1/2 yrs. old when I got them in April or May. Abby laid many eggs at her former home and would incubate them, but none ever hatched. Ducky did mate with her frequently both at their former home and after I brought them here, but I haven't seen them mate in a few weeks now. She laid regularly up until it started getting really hot here (we've now had 35 days of temps at 90 degrees or above). I haven't found an egg for about a month now. She acts fine, they both eat well and forage in the run and in the (fenced) yard while I'm here at home. I've found no broken shells, and she no longer shapes the hay bedding into a nest. She doesn't appear to be molting that I can tell. Is she taking a sabbatical, or is something going on that I may need to be concerned about? I've wondered if possibly a rat might be stealing them, but wouldn't I see SOME kind of evidence, or a broken one occasionally? [​IMG] [​IMG] TIA, anyone who might shed some light on my darkness! [​IMG]

2. duckyfromoz

duckyfromoz Quackaholic

Jan 11, 2010
    Australia
    It could be the heat stopping her from laying- but also she may have just stopped for the year. Pekins are bred as a meat bird rather than a layer.

3. Bryanccfshr

Bryanccfshr Out Of The Brooder

Mar 29, 2010
    Farmington , NM