Do roosters cluck?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Poppycock, Jul 14, 2008.

1. Poppycock

Poppycock Out Of The Brooder

Jun 10, 2008
    Alpine, UT
    I suppose this question identifies me as a total newbie to chickens, but I've got a 2 month old Buff Orp who has a pink comb that is about 1/2 inch tall, with waddles too who I've been thinking is a roo. I keep waiting to hear the crow, but I hear clucking coming from him/her. The reason I have been assuming he is a he is because I have another BO who is the same age and only has a tiny comb, and it's pale yellow. So, do roosters cluck as well as crow? [​IMG]

2. asher

asher Chicken Enabler Extraordinaire

Jan 26, 2007
    Mountains of NC
    Hmmm...well...kind of. My roosters will "cluck" and "talk" to his girls when he finds food or good treats for them to eat.

3. ozark hen

ozark hen Living My Dream

Apr 4, 2007
    Mansfield, MO
    I was going to say the same thing that Asher just said. [​IMG]

4. Poppycock

Jun 10, 2008
    Alpine, UT
    Well, thanks you guys...I guess the verdict is still out then on whether it's Babs or Bob.

5. ozark hen

ozark hen Living My Dream

Apr 4, 2007
    Mansfield, MO
    Can you post a pic of him/her? One where we can see the entire head, close up of head, and body ? Also feet. LOL There are some pretty good guessers on here who are usually right on with sexing the birds by looking at the feathers, legs and heads.

6. ChixFlix

ChixFlix Out Of The Brooder

May 13, 2008
    Lake Worth, FL
    I'm LOL about this topic!

I have a HEN who for the first time yesterday tried to CROW! She got two notes out before she quit.

Plus she sometimes grabs other hens by the neck and stands on them!

No, for sure she is a hen...but she's the Boss Heather (I have 4 very bossy hens, I call them the Heathers after that early "mean girls" movie...)