Do roosters have a "favorite" hen?

Mama_Matildas13

Hatching
8 Years
Aug 19, 2011
So, I'm new to the chicken raising thing. I don't know all of the "proper" terms & I'm not 100% sure of the type of chickens I have. We were told that 12 of our 25 chickens were Auracana (sp) hens. WELL...1 of them is a rooster. He's not so bad though. What's weird is that one of the other Auracana's is always with him. She's not started laying egg yet. He doesn't really like it if my daughter or I pick this hen up. He doesn't come at us, but he gets really vocal & walks all around crowing & cackling? You can tell he's aggrevaited. We have 13 ISA Browns & 10 other Auracana's & this one hen is the only one he seems to get upset if we pick her up.

Is this a normal sort of thing? Oh, we got all of the chickens in March, like the 2nd week. So, they're all about 5-6 months old.

Hi from Ga.

97415_100_0417-1.jpg

WELCOME ABOARD. Roosters can get very protective of their Hens. That is his job to protect them. I sure they develop their favorites. Usually all of them.
lau.gif

To answer your question, my personal experience is YES, they do sometimes have a favorite hen. I had a breeding trio of Wheaten Marans, and the rooster had his favorite, who he always mated with. Poor gal was bald on her back, and the sides of her neck too, because the rooster pulled out her feathers, but she really liked him, because they were always together. The other hen ran from him.
I put a hen saddle on her with pretty sunflowers on it, to help protect her back so her feathers could grow back.

Now, I have a lavender Orpington rooster, and he is ALWAYS with his little hatchmate hen, who is a black Orpington. They haven't started mating yet, because they're young, but they were the only two that hatched out of a dozen eggs I purchased, and they are as thick as thieves.....Always together. I think they're a couple.

Quote: