Do Silkies roost?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by NCchicken, Sep 8, 2010.

1. NCchicken

NCchicken Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 8, 2010
    Do silkies roost? I am new to silkies. I have four hens, two of them, barred rock and an EE, both roost at night, but my two silkies prefer to go in the coop and sleep on the poop board. Is this normal silkie behavior? Perhaps my roost is too high? Should I add a new lower roost? I'm afraid they will just get pooped on from their coopmates up above.[​IMG]
    Thanks!

2. gritsar

gritsar Cows, Chooks & Impys - OH MY!

Nov 9, 2007
    SW Arkansas
    [​IMG]

I have two silkies, almost 14 weeks old. One prefers to roost with his flockmates, several feet off the ground. The other one can't be forced to roost. If I put her up, she jumps back down immediately.
    I intend to add a lower roost for mine, so they aren't hurt jumping down.

Last edited: Sep 8, 2010
  3. ADozenGirlz

ADozenGirlz The Chicken Chick[IMG]emojione/assets/png/00ae.png

Oct 18, 2009
    Connecticut
    My Silkie roosts.

4. sonew123

sonew123 Poultry Snuggie

Mar 16, 2009
    onchiota NY
    mine too:) We built them a roost about 1 ft off the ground some even have problems getting on that!

5. crtrlovr

crtrlovr Still chillin' with my peeps

some of my Silkie mixes do, but the three full-blood silkies prefer to sleep in a pile. [​IMG] In the evenings, when I'm closing the door and making sure everybody's settled in and ready for bed, one corner of the chicken house just looks like a giant cotton ball...

6. NCchicken

Sep 8, 2010
    Wow, thanks for the quick responses everyone! Looks like I'll be building a lower roost for them in the coop that isn't directly under the taller roost. Hmm, this could get tricky. Looks like I have a project tonight when I get home. [​IMG]

7. SilverPhoenix

SilverPhoenix Bantam Fanatic

Dec 15, 2009
    Penn Valley, CA