Do u guys think their show quality??

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by CochinLover, Dec 23, 2008.

1. CochinLover

CochinLover Out Of The Brooder

Apr 9, 2008
    Oxnard,CA
    Ive been out of the ring for along time so im a little out of practice. Do u guys see any major flaws or stuff i need to work on?

Kai Partridge cochin
    [​IMG]

Akela Blue Partridge

[​IMG]

another pic of Akela

[​IMG]

2. Msbear

Msbear Fancy Banties

May 8, 2008
    Sharpsburg, MD.
    Im by no means an expert but I just love giving my 2 cents. [​IMG]

The first bird has a nice head but could use some more cushion. And, I believe, her partridge pattern could be more defined.

The second bird is a blue. I've never heard of a blue partridge. I think her color is nice. She does not have as nice a head as the first girl and her comb is rather large. I think she could also use a bit more cushion.

Overall, they are pretty nice. I've seen a lot worse at the shows around here.

Good Luck!

3. tileman@prodigBird Raiser

[email protected] Raiser Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 10, 2008
    I think they are both nice. I do not breed cochins but i do know the breed. I had a friend give me a blue cochin hen because she had a bad head but i got better and you would never know she had a bad head. SHe has great foot feathering but is a little rough in the feathering. She should molt and then come in very nice.

http://i225.photobucket.com/albums/dd195/Maine72/2008-11-25058.jpg

4. CochinLover

CochinLover Out Of The Brooder

Apr 9, 2008
    Oxnard,CA
    uhh i mean Akela is a blue cochin haha not a blue partridge. i guess i got excited. Is there a way to fix her head? Thanks for the advice!

5. NYREDS

NYREDS Overrun With Chickens

Jan 14, 2008
    Of the 2 the Blue is better. The Partridge is poorly coloured, long in the back, not enough tail & just generally not good Cochin type. The Blue also lacks fullness in the back end but at least her colour isn't bad.