do ya all use a gard dog to keep watch over your chickens

Discussion in 'Predators and Pests' started by countryboy1988, Sep 20, 2009.

1. countryboy1988

countryboy1988 New Egg

Sep 20, 2009
    aiken south carolina
    hi i am new to the whole chicken raiseing thing i hear many a story about coons killing chickens well her is my ? do any of you use a dog to help keep your chickens safe i am thinking about useing my treeing feist squirrel and coon dog to help me keep watch over them which i tink will work any one easle use a dog to watch over your chickens if so what breed thanks

2. missourichickenmama

missourichickenmama SURPRISE!

Jul 17, 2008
    Missouri
    No, But that sounds like a good Idea [​IMG]

3. Olive Hill

Olive Hill Overrun With Chickens

Apr 19, 2009
    Raccoons are most generally an issue at night, at which point your chickens should be fast asleep in their well-locked coop. A dog never hurts for back-up however, ours do a great job of deterring varmint from entering the area immediate to the house -- but you'll still occasionally get a very persistent predator that comes in anyway so make sure any dog you expect to guard is utd on vaccinations.

4. mahsmaj

mahsmaj Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 25, 2008
    Hannibal, Missouri
    I do! He is a Golden Retreiver Chow mix. He has the coloring of a rottweiler or doberman somehow but has the body and longer hair like a Golden Retreiver. His name is Bear and he is the friendliest thing around. He loves the chickens! One day I came home to find him in his dog house sleeping with my three young silkie roos! It was sooo cute! He chases and barks at anything thats comes near the chickens pen. Hes the best!

5. Weewanona

Weewanona Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 1, 2007
    Wilburton, OK
    I know someone who kept loosing chickens to 'night' killers. So they re-built their chicken yard and then built another fence about 4 feet out around that.