Do you keep your birds in the coop when it's cold, or let them decide?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by WisconsinGardenChick, Jan 2, 2010.

1. WisconsinGardenChick

WisconsinGardenChick Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 30, 2009
    I keep waffling over what to do. Today it was 6F outside, 20F in their coop, yet they stay out in their pen. The pen is covered on the north and west sides with plastic to keep the wind and snow out.

This is my first year with chickens, and although I read as much as I can to learn how to properly care for them, I also try to observe them and be guided by what they appear to want and need. I'm about ready to abandon that philosophy now, and keep them in, at least part of the day!

What should I do? What do you do?

They appear to be okay; no frostbite so far, moving around, eating, drinking, but not as lively as in better weather. I did take them some warm oatmeal with apples today. Two of them loved it, and one turned her beak up. She refused everything until I offered her cracked corn in my hand - she wouldn't have it off the ground, mind you! It's like she can sense my guilt over the cold and she's working me over good!!

Katherine

2. Poulets De Cajun

Poulets De Cajun Overrun With Chickens

Its quite simple honestly. Chickens are animals, and animals have instincts. If their instincts tell them that they are more comfortable outside of the coop, then let them be. Just make sure that the door is open, and they can access it if they want.

They appear to be okay; no frostbite so far, moving around, eating, drinking, but not as lively as in better weather.

Dont break anything that doesn't need fixin...​

Last edited: Jan 2, 2010
  3. ams3651

ams3651 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 23, 2008
    NE PA
    my chickens choose to stay inside, they dont like the snow but their door is open, its their choice. They know when they are cold or uncomfortable I say give them the choice.

4. Dar

Dar Overrun With Chickens

Jul 31, 2008