Do YOU reccomend Dry Hatching?

FuzzyOwlFeet

Songster
May 5, 2021
Pretty much what the title says. In the past 3 sets of eggs I've noticed the eggs that failed to hatch during lockdown drowned, too much humidity. I'm terrible at adjusting it, so I'm wondering if dry hatching would be more my style? How exactly do you do it?

I'm using an old Farm Innovator 4250. I live in the northeast corner of Nebraska, USA if that matters at all.

Any tips you have would be much appreciated... I'm still a rookie when it comes to hatching eggs.

I switched to dry hatching after I was having the same issues in my farm innovators incubator. The fan had stopped working in mine so I let the humidity get down to 20%. I never added water and let the humidity in the room do all the work. Increased my shipped egg count by so much. That incubator finally died so I’m actually working with the new digital model of the 4250. I still dry incubating and am letting the humidity get down between 20-30%. The farm innovators incubators don’t hold humidity for very long anyway in my experience.

After the eggs have had their 18 days of dry incubation though I put them into a different incubator that is already set at 60% humidity and 100F. Then I just leave the eggs in the lockdown incubator. The lockdown incubator is small so I try not to open it unless I have to. Then if I have to I put in a wet paper towel.

I switched to dry hatching after I was having the same issues in my farm innovators incubator. The fan had stopped working in mine so I let the humidity get down to 20%. I never added water and let the humidity in the room do all the work. Increased my shipped egg count by so much. That incubator finally died so I’m actually working with the new digital model of the 4250. I still dry incubating and am letting the humidity get down between 20-30%. The farm innovators incubators don’t hold humidity for very long anyway in my experience.