Do you sell/eat your duck eggs?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by fishnet1971, Apr 21, 2011.

1. newbie here, i am wondering what to expect from my two week old Pekins when they grow up. What do you all do with your duck eggs? can they be eaten/sold like my chicken eggs? I am not planning on hatching any and dont want them to go to waste.

2. schellie69

schellie69 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 8, 2009
    Kansas
    Use them to bake with the cookies and cakes are so good. [​IMG]

3. The Duck ABC's

The Duck ABC's Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 5, 2011
    We eat them. They are really good as scrambled eggs. Not so good hard boiled. Way better in baking then chicken eggs. In baking I actually use the same number of duck eggs as you would with chicken eggs. I do bake 5 minutes longer to offset the size difference. Duck eggs make everything baked fluffier and richer. Never going back to baking with chicken eggs.

4. loubapache

loubapache Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 25, 2010
    Western Michigan
  5. TLWR

TLWR Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 10, 2010
    southern AL
    Jet, our greyhound, finds Blue's soft eggs in the yard and eats them.
    The others, we eat, use to bake/cook, give away, share with the dogs. I blew out a dozen and shipped them off to my sister to do as she pleased or use them with her day care kids for a craft project.

Pretty much anybody that comes by is asked if they want duck eggs, send the bug guy off with a dozen last week [​IMG]

Last edited: Apr 21, 2011
  6. iamcuriositycat

iamcuriositycat Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 30, 2009
    Charlotte, NC
    Chefs and bakers often prefer duck eggs over chicken (better loft, richer flavor). If you can find a few, they will usually gladly pay a premium ($5+) for fresh duck eggs.

Asian markets are another good option.

We love them boiled, scrambled, fried, and used in recipes. Yum!

7. FarmrGirl

FarmrGirl MooseMistress

Jul 1, 2009
    Southern Maryland