Do you still buy eggs from the stores ?

Discussion in 'Random Ramblings' started by BruceAZ, Jun 1, 2016.

1. BruceAZ

BruceAZ Chillin' With My Peeps

May 18, 2016
    Valley of the Sun :)
    we still have another 5-8 weeks to go so..

$3.66 for 18 eggs(caged eggs) (EB brand).

organic feed is kind of expensive $30 for a 30 lb bag

buyer club price $27.45 for a 50lb bag

How long before we can break even with the up front costs of raising chickens [​IMG]

even if we can use $5/dozen for organic eggs ?

2. whimzy

whimzy New Egg

May 25, 2016
    Ohio
    I'm not sure breaking even in the calculus for me. I have been keeping chickens for just three years and was selling my eggs for $5.00 a dozen. 19 hens, 100 lbs of organic/non soy feed per month that i have to ship in @ $80 for an average of ~15 dozen eggs per month = just over $5.00 per dozen. Also does not include cost of chicks, six months of feed to get them to laying age or labor and infrastructure.

However, breaking even has not been the motivation for me. I wanted high quality fresh eggs and that is what i get from my hens. No arsenic, or soy proteins, high in omega 3 and other nutrients from eating lots of greens. Everyone who has had them has commented how wonderful they are compared to the expensive store bought organic eggs($7/doz).

Selling eggs has also not been my goal, only selling the excess that we can't use between my husband and teenager plus the households of our three adult children.

I imagine everyones motivation is different for keeping laying hens, this is what works for us.

1 person likes this.
  3. FridayYet

FridayYet Innocent Bystander

Mar 3, 2011
    The Land of Enchantment
    For me? Never.

I spend about the same as you for organic/non-soy feed. We eat a lot of eggs, but give away a lot more to neighbors.

As I told my husband, the first dozen eggs costs about 3 grand. After that, they're all free. [​IMG]

4. BruceAZ

May 18, 2016