Does anybody here know anything about vintage campers/trailers?

Discussion in 'Random Ramblings' started by HHandbasket, Jan 2, 2011.

1. HHandbasket

HHandbasket The Chickeneer

Happy New Year, BYCers! My DH and I have been looking for a cheap camper/trailer to use in our back yard as an additional room for guests. We have a tiny, tiny house, and it's impossible to have company come visit overnight. Plus, I am a jewelry designer/beader, and all of my beads, jewelry tools, notebooks, and supplies are kinda everywhere in our tiny little house. I don't want to move until we can afford a bigger place in the country (hopefully by mid year, fingers crossed!), but in the meantime, we need more room, and I need a space to use as a design/beadwork/art studio. Cheap used trailer seems to be just the thing!

To that end, I have been perusing craigslist ads, taking drives in the country where I know there are houses with old abandoned trailers outside (we're looking for a fixer-upper/project camper), and talking to people to see if anyone knows someone with a camper for sale. We've looked at a couple, but today I found the one I'm going to get!

It was the single-most unique camper/trailer thingie I have ever seen in my life. It looks like one of those BIG barbeque grills, the kind they make out of steel drums but are super-sized, like 8 feet long. It also kinda looks like a miniature oil/gas rig. Very cylindrical in shape, and it's a pop-up camper inside. You open up the sides of the cylinder & it becomes two twin-size beds/sofas. At the head of the trailer near the tongue, there's a stove and a refrigerator that work. I wanted something I can paint and fix up, and they were going to paint it and all the prep work is already done! I think this thing is older than me (I'm 48).