Does anyone have a clue when they should start laying?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by efudge94, Aug 5, 2011.

1. efudge94

efudge94 Out Of The Brooder

Aug 4, 2011
    I am new to chickens, i have 8 right now. I got them the day they were born <3 [​IMG]. I have four hens ( 2 Rhode Island Red, 1 New Hampshire red, and 1 White leghorn. ) And they turned 17 weeks old two days ago. I know nothings ever exact but does anybody know if they SHOULD be about to start laying in the next few weeks? And my roosters or ducks wont try and eat the eggs will they? They think everything that goes in their pen is a treat and always take a nibble at it

2. thepromise

thepromise Out Of The Brooder

May 26, 2010
    Orange County
    My Rhode Island Reds began laying earlier than the rest of my flock. Rosey laid at 18 weeks and Red laid at 21 weeks. I had a really skittish white leghorn hen, she laid at 16 weeks and 4 days. I remember that exactly cuz that was the first egg laid in our coops. [​IMG] Hopefully you'll get a yummy white egg from your leghorn. [​IMG] I dont think the roosters and ducks would eat it. UNLESS its a soft shell egg and they peck at it and it open. [​IMG] [​IMG] good luck!!!

3. AngelzFyre

AngelzFyre Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 18, 2007
    Pell City, Alabama
    Quote:[​IMG]
    Usually they start laying anywhere from 18 weeks to 6 mo old, depending on the breed. You should notice the comb and wattles turning brighter red and they may lay some very small eggs at first until they get a bit older and used to laying.
    If they don't lay in the boxes some other chickens, roosters or ducks could very well eat the eggs if they just see them laying about but usually they don't.
    Make sure you are using either a layer feed, or Flock Raiser and and have oyster shell free choice available at all times along with their granite grit.
    Good luck and hope you get some eggs soon! [​IMG]

4. efudge94

Aug 4, 2011