does anyone know about old bread?

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by isingtomychickens, Aug 26, 2010.

1. isingtomychickens

isingtomychickens In the Brooder

Aug 26, 2010
    My hubby and i have been raising chickens for a couple years now,but we're still learning, and we had heard from a couple locals that buying old bread ( a couple days before expiration) from the bread store by the rack is a cheaper way to help extend the supply of layer pellets. We bought some, but with the hot weather it soon went VERY moldy. I am hesitant to feed it to the chickens because-- a. I don't want to give them something that may potentially hurt them and, b. I don't want anything potentially harmful ending up in our eggs. My husband doesn't see a problem with it, but since I am generally the one who does the feeding in the evening I haven't given them any. I was thinking perhaps winter is a better time to do this since the bread would keep better to supplement their food. Does anyone have any helpful info on this? If this moldy bread will not harm my chickens or eggs that's fine, but I really would like to have a definitive answer before proceeding. Thank you very much!

2. pgpoultry

pgpoultry Songster

Oct 16, 2009
    Wales
    I don't think that it does the chickens any harm, mine eat any mouldy old stuff they find.

A couple of days ago there was a bit of a commotion outside and mine were squabbling over a dead frog. When we have the neighbour's cows fro a few weeks to chew off the field edges, the chickens delight in eating maggots which form in the cow pats. Now if they are OK, then a bit of mould is not likely to be too detrimental!

Sandie

3. Royd

Royd Songster

May 31, 2009
    Middleburg, Fl.
    I've been using bread, for some time, now. It is an excellent treat. I was freezing mine, until the freezer went out, then, I started storing it in the fridge, but it took up all the room, and became very annoying.