Does anyone raise ducks with your chicks?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by LizGled628, Jul 31, 2010.

1. LizGled628

LizGled628 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 13, 2010
    Rhode Island
    My husband and I love our seven week old chickie babies so much, we are in talks of getting another batch next spring! I'm a baker (fresh eggs=heaven), and I've heard that duck eggs are even more delicious than chicken eggs, so we are thinking of adding some ducklings to our order. I was just wondering if anyone has an recommendations or favorite breeds that really get along with their babies, and eventually will integrate into the chicken flock nicely.

Thanks in advance for the help!

2. Indiana hens

Indiana hens Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 25, 2008
    Pendleton, Indiana
    Khaki Campbells. But ducks are known to be carriers of diseases that can be fatal to chickens and they poop in every drop of water they can find.

3. nicholaschickens

nicholaschickens Out Of The Brooder

Jul 30, 2010
    i have hatched 5 of my chick last year with two of my ducks but when they came out about 5 days after i vaccanated them so that they would get a heathly start and dont get any diseases i think if you do that then you should vaccinate them about 5 or 6 days after they hatch just to be extra sure but also make sure that the ducks don't poo in the water if they do then clean it out straight away and watch that they dont try and climb into the water because they will spil the water and dampness causes disease if you need anymore help message me andi would choose Saxony ducks or call ducks !

Last edited: Jul 31, 2010
  4. LizGled628

Jun 13, 2010
    Rhode Island
    I remember the duck poop when I was little...it's like their personal mission in life! I am in the middle of constructing a nipple waterer system for our chickens (I imagine the ducks can't use them), but I bet the chickens would drink the duck water anyways? Hmm, I hadn't really considered that.

5. woodmort