Does anyone use heaters in extremely cold weather?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by pappy1264, Dec 7, 2013.

1. pappy1264

pappy1264 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 7, 2013
    I live in Massachusetts. My coop is 8x6x5, it is vented at the roof line both front and back, windows on all four sides. I am not using any heat source, but wondering if we get a really cold snap, should I be? I saw this and was wondering if anyone has heard of or used this and would it be a good idea to have something for a stretch of say temps in the single digits or minus digits? This is my first time having chickens, so want to make sure they are safe and ok. http://www.sweeterheater.com/page4.asp

2. jeepgirl13

jeepgirl13 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 13, 2013
    Arizona
    If the coop is draft free and enclosed, and they are fully feathered, your chickies should be ok. I would stay away from heaters. I just read another story on here about how someone ran an extension cord and.heater out to their coop and it burned down in the night. If you feel a heat source is necessary, go with a heat lamp put high up and put some wire fencing over the bulb

3. BrickWall Honey

BrickWall Honey Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 24, 2013
    Accomac, Va.
    Xs2 good info

4. pappy1264

Apr 7, 2013
    It whole roof line is 'open' (well, it has hardware cloth over it), both front and back, so the air can pass through so to speak. It just feels so cold in there to me. I know not for all the time, but with this crazy weather, if we got a snap of abnormally warm weather, would they still be ok? I thought this heater looked safe.

5. 4 the Birds

4 the Birds Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 15, 2010
    Westfield, Indiana