Does anyone use the solar nite eyes??

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by Roy Rooster, Jun 6, 2011.

1. Roy Rooster

Roy Rooster Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 9, 2010
    Tennesee Smoky Mts.
    Hi, [​IMG]

This is my first attempt at raising chickens.
    I am currently getting the accessories for
    the coop.

I have heard a lot about solar nite eyes to ward
    off night time predators.

I was wondering does anyone use them?
    If so what is your opinion?

Is this something that I should purchase??

Thanks [​IMG]

2. patandchickens

patandchickens Flock Mistress

Apr 20, 2007
    Ontario, Canada
    If you have the money burning a hole in your pocket and want to try it as an accessory to an already quite predatorproof setup, sure.

I am just real, real skeptical of it, because a) the justification given for why it works is utter nonsense (only PEOPLE see eye-flash reflections from other mammals -- because only PEOPLE are apt to be holding flashlights or with a porchlight or the like at your shoulder, which is the only time the effect occurs) and b) given that serious professional predators (as opposed to 'occasionals') get used to practically everything else, it seems to me rather unlikely they wouldn't acclimate to a little blinky light too.

The fact that their rationale is nonsensical does not necessarily mean it doesn't work, of course -- there are a few things in life that perfectly well do work despite the original explanation that was advanced for 'em being dead wrong -- but it does make one go Hmmmm.