Does anyone vermicompost?

Discussion in 'Random Ramblings' started by goatranch, May 15, 2010.

1. goatranch

goatranch Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 8, 2009
    I am kinda new to BYC chat, but have read posts everyday for a long time. I have a chicken addiction as does most everyone on this site. I started vermicomposting to provide my beautiful birds with worms year round. Vermicomposting starts a whole other hobby in itself. Unfortunately it is a hobby that most people are grossed out by. I am looking for anyone else who enjoys vermocomposting. I am now looking into adding a grub bucket for "biogrubs". I would like to hear from anyone else with any info or stories.

2. Boyd

Boyd Recipient of The Biff Twang

Mar 14, 2009
    MI
    I do, I use euro crawlers, and they eat everything organic with the exception of meat products and heavy oils [​IMG]

3. Goose and Fig

Goose and Fig Grateful Geese

Apr 19, 2009
    Fall Creek Falls TN
    We just compost- poop and vegetable scraps galore with all these birds and alpacas. I just dug out the bottom of one of the bins to make a new raised bed- I could not believe how many big worms and huge grubs (dung beatles maybe?) were in there! Anyway- I let the hens have a field day in the box before I put fencing around it(I kept some of the worms though). They were in seventh heaven- and now I don't have to worry about grubs! Usually when I find worms I put them in a fenced box so the birds can't eat them all. Gotta have some for the garden! [​IMG]

4. NJfarmer

NJfarmer Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 28, 2007
    New Jersey and Maine
    I have a question. My vermicompost setup is indoors using a rubbermaid bin. I've had the worms since the summer and would like to clean out the bin and put new bedding in it. Anyone have any recommendations for what to do with the worm poop as for as storing it is concerned?

5. Frosty

Frosty Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 30, 2008
    ND