Does coop square footage include any wire flooring below perches?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by vttrissy, Mar 22, 2015.

1. vttrissy

vttrissy Out Of The Brooder

Mar 21, 2015
    Middlesboro, KY
    Hi All-
    I am new to chickens and really enjoying reading all of the valuable information here. I am making a coop for 6 hens (currently 2 weeks old). I understand the rules of 2 sq ft per bird of coop space and 1 ft of roosting space per bird. However, I would like to have a screen/wire floor under the perches to allow dropping to fall through. Would the space under the perches be included in the square footage of the coop? I'm not sure my chicken math is right.
    Thanks!
    -chrissy

2. SunkenRoadFarms

SunkenRoadFarms Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 11, 2014
    Maryland
    Welcome! You'll need closer to 4 sq ft of floor space per bird (large fowl), which does not include dropping wire or boards, nest boxes, or space taken up by waterers or feeders. Bigger is always better, especially if chicken math strikes.

3. TheEggCollecter

TheEggCollecter Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 16, 2014
    Massachusettes
    x2

4. WthrLady

WthrLady Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 24, 2014
    WestOak, Nebraska
    X3

If they can't throw a dance party in it, it doesn't count as sq footage.

5. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner Chicken Obsessed

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas
    There are no rules as to how much room you need, only suggestions. Anytime someone throws out a number someone else will toss another number in the mix. Anytime someone says you have to do something one way, somebody else will come on and say I do it a different way. We keep them in so many different conditions and climates with different flock make-ups with so many different goals and management techniques that we are all unique. What works for one may not work for another.