does he have to be registered with the vet?

Discussion in 'Other Pets & Livestock' started by Johnn, Oct 8, 2011.

1. Johnn

Johnn Overrun With Chickens

Sep 5, 2011
    ok so i have been buying wormers for my dog that i found out online asrnt very affective i want to go to the vets and get one but my dog is not registered with the vets, will they still let me?

2. Olwethen

Olwethen Out Of The Brooder

Jul 4, 2011
    near Athens GA
    It depends on the Vets in your area. It is required that a veterinarian have an established relationship with a client/patient before dispensing prescription drugs. So, it will boil down to whether the Vet you choose considers dewormers to be prescription items. As a Vet Tech, I will tell you you need to establish a relationship with a Veterinarian in your area for your dog's health. When your dog becomes sick or injured, and trust me, it does happen, you want to know that you are taking your dog to a place that knows you both and that you can trust. A vet that knows you is also more likely to work out payment arrangements if/when you need them.

You didn't say how old your dog is, but it also needs vaccines and heartworm prevention. Some of these items can only be obtained through a licensed veterinarian.

As for the worm issue, a vet clinic can identify the specific type of parasite your pet has and give you the appropriate dewormer in the appropriate amount.

Time for you to start looking for a Vet.

Stephanie in GA

3. Johnn

Johnn Overrun With Chickens

Sep 5, 2011
    well we only got out dog in febuary and he turned 1 in june, he has never had to go to the vets before

4. rebelcowboysnb

rebelcowboysnb Confederate Money Farm

If you can find a local "farm" vet go with them an stay far away from house pet vets with nice building. Save you a lot of money. Farm vets are getting harder to find though.

5. dainerra

dainerra Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 4, 2011