Does indoor brooding time vary based on breed?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by leah9114, Jan 21, 2014.

1. leah9114

leah9114 In the Brooder

May 14, 2013
    Cache, OK
    I adopted 2 Pekin ducks last Saturday from a local farmer. We love them so much, we want to get two Pekin ducklings soon as well. I'm new to ducks...learning fast, but new nonetheless. So my question is, how long will I need to keep my Pekin duckling inside with a heat lamp before they can free range in the yard with our other ducks and chickens?

I have read the typical timeframe is 6-8 weeks and/or until the outside temp doesn't drop below 50 degrees at night. Is that true of all duck breeds? Because I've also read that Pekins mature faster and would be fully grown by that time.

Timing is everything when ordering baby Pekins. I need to know how long I can expect them to live indoors with us before being able to venture outside for good. If it's truly the 6-8 weeks timeframe, I could order them for deliver this Thurs and expect to put them in the yard by March 20. If, however they will only be inside for a few weeks, I need to wait to order them and schedule a delivery date for early Spring so I can ensure the outside temps will be warm enough.

Help? Am I overthinking this? :/

2. my sunwolf

my sunwolf Songster

Apr 22, 2012
    Southwest Virginia
    My Coop
    In my experience with Pekin ducklings, it entirely depends on what the outside temperatures are, as you said. Some people feel the need to keep ducklings in for the full 8 weeks; after you smell them in your house, you will think otherwise!