Does it bother you???

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by KarenP, Nov 17, 2011.

1. KarenP

KarenP Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 6, 2011
    Westport
    I know this is really strange, but i feel so bad for my hens when the rooster tries to mate with them!! Do they really have to be so rough??? I know i'm probably wrong and I probably look like a fool, but i can't help but to yell at him when i hear my girls scream as he grabs them by the neck!![​IMG]

Last edited: Nov 17, 2011
  2. KBUGS

KBUGS Out Of The Brooder

Apr 13, 2011
    NC
    I used to think that. However, they all got a little older and the roo was sweeter to the girls and the girls, I guess, just finally became ready for it. They don't squawk a bit now. They squat right down for him. This is my first year with chickens so maybe other roos and hens are different, but I used to think it looked like rape everytime. Now they have it all figured out.

3. Beekissed

Beekissed True BYC Addict

Yeah...just once I'd like one of my big White Rocks to turn around and peck him in the eyeball. Just once. My roo is more gentle than most but it still looks like his attentions are not welcomed and the hen usually looks pretty disgusted as she gets up, shakes herself and walks away. I can almost hear her thinking, "Gee, best 1/10 of a second I've ever had..."

4. CarolJ

CarolJ Dogwood Trace Farm

Jun 3, 2011
    Middle Tennessee
    Quote:[​IMG]

5. chickmashnoon

chickmashnoon Chillin' With My Peeps

some of them like it rough [​IMG] no, really, sometimes mating in the animal kingdom can look pretty brutal.