Does my hen look healthy enough? New & Clueless

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by VA Lady, Sep 20, 2010.

1. VA Lady

VA Lady Chillin' With My Peeps

May 26, 2010
    Virginia
    We got our first 4 chickens back in May when they were just tiny things and recently two of the three hens started laying eggs. Interestingly enough the smallest of the three is laying the largest eggs (they look like a normal size "large" to me). Being a paranoid "mom" I'm a little worried about my small girl though... She looks pretty healthy to me but I'm new to chickens and I'm concerned that she's undersized and/or that laying these big eggs (and also being the rooster's favorite) could take it's toll on her. When they are roaming the yard she's often leading the way but in the coop sometimes the other two will pick on her a bit too. I'm hoping to get some feedback on how she looks from her photos - if anyone thinks she doesn't look healthy I'm willing to find a way to separate her for a break (or any other ideas anyone has!).
    Her name is Rosie and she's my sweetest bird - in the photos she's the little red hen with bits of white here and there:

Size comparison:

[​IMG]

This is a side shot of her behind the biggest hen:

[​IMG]

2. silkieroo

silkieroo Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 14, 2010
    Durham NH
    She looks pretty good to me... Does her breast bone have a small layer of fat/skin over it? If yes she looks great! [​IMG] by the way [​IMG]

Good Luck,
    Maddie

Last edited: Sep 20, 2010
  3. captainmom

captainmom Out Of The Brooder

Jun 23, 2010
    Centralia IL