Does this look like a rooster? Better picture added

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by hawtchick, Jun 30, 2008.

1. hawtchick

hawtchick Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 11, 2008
    New Hampshire
    I am new to this, and just wondering how old you can usually tell roos from pullets........
    This one is standing out from the rest of the flock, but maybe I am just looking to much??? Hope this pic is ok....
    Thanks!

[​IMG]

Here's the better pic......... about 4 to 4 1/2 weeks
    [​IMG]

Last edited: Jun 30, 2008
  2. BearSwampChick

BearSwampChick Chicken Sensei

Jan 10, 2008
    Marysville, OH
    You didn't say how old, but I'm guessing a pullet. BTW welcome to the forum! [​IMG]

Last edited: Jun 30, 2008
  3. hawtchick

Jun 11, 2008
    New Hampshire
    it's around 4 weeks. I guess I thought it was a roo b/c it's comb on the top and it's starting to get that red flappy stuff (don't know what it's called) hanging around it's lips.
    I have no clue.
    Thanks

4. BearSwampChick

Jan 10, 2008
    Marysville, OH
    Those are wattles, dear, and if they're already flappy at 4 weeks, then I would change my guess to roo. It would help to have a picture with a better angle. [​IMG]

5. hawtchick

Jun 11, 2008
    New Hampshire
    I was pretty sure they were called wattles, but it was easier to call them something stupid then be completely wrong......
    Here's a new pic.
    Thanks so much for helping a newb.

6. bangor777

bangor777 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 4, 2008
    I'd say rooster!

7. FisherMOM

FisherMOM Chillin' With My Peeps

May 7, 2008
    Bergen, NY
    looks like a rooster to me too. [​IMG]

8. hawtchick

Jun 11, 2008
    New Hampshire
    Is there anything different we need to do if it is in fact a roo? We hadn't planned on having one.... of course. We were just planning on having eggs..... not more chicks. I have so many questions, and don't know were to start. :eek:

9. BearSwampChick

Jan 10, 2008
    Marysville, OH