...Dog Attack - Injured Rooster - How To Treat? - Need Advice, Please

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by TJ, Nov 4, 2007.

1. TJ

TJ Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 7, 2007
    Missouri
    Hello, I had two large dogs bust in my chicken pen door and they climbed inside the pen and killed and maimed some of my flock. I went out there this morning to check on the survivors and noticed one rooster sitting off by himself, I looked him over and noticed that a large chunk of feathers missing from his back and there is a chunk of flesh missing as well (approx. 1-2 inches wide and a little deep). He does get up and walk about and even clucks some and he does eat but he acts like he is in shock... As I am too today.

My question is, how do I treat this injury? Should I apply an antibiotic cream? If so, what type? Should I wash out the wound? I've never done this before, please advise...

Thank you for your time!

TJ

2. DuckLady

DuckLady Administrator Staff Member

Jan 11, 2007
    Washington State
    Wash it well with plain soap and water if you can. Apply neosporin cream and V&E to his water. Keep him separated and watch for infection. Use straw for bedding, as shavings can stick to the wound. You can add 5 plain aspirin to a gallon of water for pain, as well.

Keep us posted!

3. TJ

Feb 7, 2007
    Missouri
    Hello Terrie, thank you kindly for responding. At the risk of sounding like a complete and total dummy, can you tell me what V&E is, and where do I get it?

I will do this right away and I can't thank you enough for the advice - you're a Godsend![​IMG]

And I'll let you know how this goes...

Warm regards,

TJ

4. SpottedCrow

SpottedCrow Flock Goddess

Oh Jeeze, sorry that your birdies got hurt and killed.
    Make sure that he stays warm too.
    V&E are vitamins and Electrolytes. in a pinch unflavoured Gatorade can be used.