Dog attacked my Lucy!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by ameeks, Feb 8, 2014.

1. ameeks

ameeks Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 1, 2014
    Benton, AR
    You can see in the pics that she got hurt pretty bad. I'm new to the chicken thing so I got on here and searched and read and came up with a plan. She' s in a smaller pet carrier in my house now. Today I went and got tetracycline for her water and iodine to clean her wounds. I also got some Rooster Booster. Thankfully she is eating good. I mixed up oatmeal, honey, banana and a boiled egg yolk and she ate every bit of it. I'm still worried about her though. Her bottom just looks so bad and is constantly seeping runny poo. She does have solid stool too though. Any suggestions on what else I can do for her? She's become a pet and loves to cuddle and talk to me, I don't want to lose her[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. Wisher1000

Wisher1000 Bama Biddy

Hi, Welcome to BYC!

It sounds like you are on the right track. Keep her clean, keep her eating, keep her quiet, and keep her warm (not too warm.) She will likely heal on her own. It is hard to tell from the pics, is the muscle involved, or just skin? If it is just the skin, make sure it is clean beneath it (between skin and muscle) and keep some antibiotic cream on it. Don't use anything that contains any of the "-caine"s for pain, it's not good for birds. If there are muscles involved, it may interfere with her bodily processes and she may need to be culled. I know that would be hard, but you wouldn't want her to suffer.

I think she has a good chance of surviving and healing with just a bit of assistance from you.

Gook luck! [​IMG]

3. granny hatchet

granny hatchet Tastes like chicken Premium Member

Sep 26, 2013
    madison Indiana
    thats some pretty sever injury's. does your vet do chickens?

4. ameeks

Feb 1, 2014
    Benton, AR