Dog house converted to coop

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by ArchersMom, Mar 19, 2018.

1. ArchersMom

ArchersMom Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 2, 2015
    I decided to convert an old dog house into a second small coop. I'm hoping to fit 3-4 free range hens and maybe 1 rooster. I'll also be converting a 5' x 10' chain link dog kennel into a run. This is my first attempt to build anything as I'm not very handy when it comes to power tools, so I kept everything as simple as I could.

All that's left for the coop itself is the nesting boxes. I'm keeping them in the house itself since the run won't be covered and I need it to be very rainproof. I chose to place the roost bars parallel to the door so that I could place the boxes in the back corner. The roof hinges up for cleaning and collecting eggs, so I should be able to harvest the eggs fairly easily. I put less than $100 into the coop itself so I'm very happy with that aspect.

I still have to build the base to get it high enough off the ground to keep the feed and water containers out of the elements; and finish wrapping the run in hardware cloth.

Attached Files:

2. cavemanrich

cavemanrich Flock Master

Apr 6, 2014
    Melrose Park Illinois
    All looks good. You are not finished yet so consider some necessities.
    You do need to read up on ventilation. What you have at present is a sauna in summer, and a humidity trap during winter. Not to mention, an ammonia generator.
    Ventilation is probably the most important thing about coops.
    You can house your chickens in a secure run with some protection from above from the weather elements. (some on sides as well from prevailing wind directions)
    In a closed box they will not do very well for very long. @aart has some good links in posting about ventilation. Lot easier to just study those than have me write all those all over again.:thumbsup
    WISHING YOU BEST.......:highfive:

3. ChickNanny13