Dog Recommendation with Chickens Help Please

Discussion in 'Other Pets & Livestock' started by SunshineShack, Aug 23, 2018.

1. SunshineShack

SunshineShack Hatching

Aug 23, 2018
    HI Everyone,
    I am new to backyard chickens and could use some help! I am looking for a family puppy recommendation. I have free range chickens, a few ducks and goats. I do not need a live stock guardian as I am afraid to have that with my young child. I want something that is all around a good family dog but will also leave my chickens alone. I know training will be involved and I am open to suggestions on how to do that so my girls (chickens) can stay happy and healthy. I am not looking for super high energy and I don't want something that might jump the fence and killl the neighbors dog. I am on 10 acres about 2 is fenced pasture that keeps everybody in. Thoughts and suggestions appreciated. :)

Eryniel and Kessel23 like this.
  2. RollTideChicken

RollTideChicken Songster

Mar 21, 2017
    North Alabama
    I've had excellent luck with my beagle. Very good family dog and has even learned to help me herd the chickens when needed. Oh and he has no aggression towards my flock at all.

3. Cyprus

Cyprus Master of the 'never give up' attitude

Jan 19, 2018
    My Coop
    First and foremost steer well away from ANY type of bird dog, hunting dog, or terrier.
    Worst breeds with chickens:
    1. Siberian Husky
    2. German Shepherd
    3. Greyhound (and pretty much all sighthounds)
    4. German Shorthaired Pointer
    5. Jack Russel Terrier
    6. Collies (all kinds)
    7. Retrievers (all kinds)
    I have found that the good-all Mutt usually does well. That being said, here is a list of breeds that I have observed to be good around poultry
    1. Great Pyrenese
    2. Pug
    3. Mastiffs
    4. Bulldogs
    5. St. Bernards
    6. Poodles
    The best all-around dog, IMO, is the Great Pyranese. It is great with families, a fantastic guard dog, and can be well trained.