Dominant hen:rooster situation

HappyHandsHomestead

In the Brooder
Jun 8, 2019
Greetings! I am new to chicken ownership. I have three 11-week-old chickens, a black one we’re sure is a hen, an EE rooster (he’s a little guy), and a fat BO who I believe is a hen as well. The BO seems to be the dominant figure in the flock. Does anyone have a dominant hen when there’s a rooster in the flock also? Can I just leave it that way, or will problems I’m currently unaware of arise down the road? At present, my rooster doesn’t crow often (even though he can), and I would like to keep him as quiet as possible because I am not allowed to have Roos within city limits. I want to keep him until I find him a good home rather than feel forced to kill him for lack of better options. I have read that roosters will often not crow if there is a more dominant rooster (or a Boss Lady BO??) in charge of the flock, so I’m particularly interested in maintaining whatever this dynamic is so that this guy can hang with us a bit longer. I was just curious if this sounds like total rubbish or if any of it makes sense/rings true for anyone else here? They all seem to get along beautifully.

I would like to keep him as quiet as possible because I am not allowed to have Roos within city limits.
Then best to start planning now how you'll get rid of him asap.
You don't want to endanger everyone's ability to keep layers in your area.
Not to mention losing your own flock and a possible fine to boot.

I know you are so hoping that other chicken lovers will have a way to make this work, and we don't. You are right, it is rubbish, wishful thinking. Chicks are a lot of fun, and roosters are the most sweet, forward, cheeky, loving attention...impossible to imagine them as aggressive, violent bullies.

As stated above - they will change, and the rooster will change the most. Roosters are a crap shoot, some turn out, and some do not.