Dominique hen has lump

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by rbum, Nov 4, 2016.

1. rbum

rbum Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 27, 2014
    Louisiana
    My hen hasn't been laying eggs much ans sitting down often but doesn't look ill. She feels very light weight and has a lump on her breast right side. Should I be concerned?

2. Teila

Teila Bambrook Bantams Premium Member

Hi there rbum

I am sorry no-one has responded to your post earlier and wonder how your girl is doing now?

First up, I am not an expert when it comes to what ails chickens and I hope that someone with more experience in this area chimes in.

However, before helping with a diagnosis, they would probably need more information.

The lump you are feeling, could that be her crop or something else?
    With the little symptoms provided it is hard to diagnose but she may be having crop issues. This is a link to an article on diagnosis and treatment of sour and impacted crops:

https://www.backyardchickens.com/a/impacted-slow-and-sour-crops-prevention-and-treatments

Is she pooping OK, do they look normal?

These are a couple of poop charts that may aid in diagnosis:

http://chat.allotment-garden.org/index.php?topic=17568.0

http://www.the-chicken-chick.com/2012/02/whats-scoop-on-chicken-poop-digestive.html

Do you worm your flock? Have you checked her for parasites [lice or mites]?

How is her comb colour?

Does she appear to have a good appetite and drinking enough?

How old is she and how long ago did you start to notice these symptoms?

3. rbum

rbum Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 27, 2014
    Louisiana