Don't know what to do...Marek's? Something else? Help!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Madhen80, Feb 4, 2014.

1. Madhen80

Madhen80 Out Of The Brooder

Mar 18, 2012
    Northwest Ohio
    I am pretty new to chickens. So here is my story: Received my first birds in 2011 from a hatchery. Raised them, all was well, until one day, after the first were matured several months, a black Australorp pullet began "stumbling" She was about 20 weeks old I'd say when it started. She was the only bird of about 30 who did this, and she never got any worse or better, she just stumbled and got off balance from time to time. She could run like the wind though with no issues. This bird lived several months longer, but was discovered one day dead on the coop floor. The following year, I had purchased some birds from a person on Craigslist. Did this several times actually. Was warned to keep them isolated for a month or so. Did that, seemed ok, put them all together slowly. What I didn't know at the time, or wasn't educated about was these little diseases like Marek's that can be devastating to flocks. Anyways, birds were a bit older, seemed healthy, didn't think anything of it. Fast forward another year, to last year. I had acquired some incubators from someone, so decided to hatch some eggs of my own. Wound up with close to 50 chicks - way more hatched than anticipated. Chicks seemed healthy (didn't even think to vaccinate them), and did well until about 8 weeks or so, when I would lose 1 every once in a while. I lost a total of probably 7 out of the bunch. Most actually acted paralyzed in the neck at first, and then would lay on their sides and die. They died rather quickly once onset began. Then with one of them, I decided to syringe it water to see if it made a difference, and it actually recovered within a day and acted like nothing had happened. By this time the birds were closer to 14 weeks old. So now, I have either culled or been rid of