Don't know what to use for ground cover in pen

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by mtnhomechick, Jun 28, 2008.

1. mtnhomechick

mtnhomechick Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 27, 2008
    Mountain Home, AR
    I use straw in the coop and in the pen also. A friend who grew up on a farm said the straw for the pen is a waste. Well, naturally there use to be grass there but it's long gone. So I put straw down.

Is that right or wrong?

When it's really hot down here in Arkansas, I put ice in the water a couple times a day and hang refrigerated corn on the cob or cabbage or lettuce for them. Otherwise, I feed them layer crumbles and cracked corn.

Does this sound alright?

I'm a newbie at this and would appreciate any suggestions.

TIA

2. Cassandra

Cassandra Ranger Rick

Oct 27, 2007
    Southwest Mississippi
    I think it sounds fine. I have been using dry pine needles for litter in my chicken pen. It works great.

I think I'm going to have the same trouble as you with the heat this summer. But I like the idea of hanging refrigerated veggies as a cool treat. [​IMG]

Cassandra

3. mtnhomechick

Jun 27, 2008
    Mountain Home, AR
    I freeze ice in used cottage cheese containers and put it in the hanging waterers. It fits through the top real good and it hopefully helps them a bit.....I don't like to see them panting. Poor girls!! I also keep a fan running in the coop.

I have a hard time with heat and humidity........maybe that's why I do this.

4. lavacaw

lavacaw Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 4, 2008
    South Central Texas
    Sometimes, I rake all the oak leaves (bags and bags of them) and dump them in the pen...the chickens love scratching through them to uncover bugs and seeds and what not...then periodically I rake the chicken pen and put the stuff in the garden. It's a win-win thing![​IMG]

5. can you hear me now?

can you hear me now? Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 18, 2008
    Southwest Missouri