Doubles and triples!?!?!?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by HobbyChickener, Apr 15, 2008.

1. HobbyChickener

HobbyChickener Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 29, 2007
    central KY
    ok I have been doing the chiken thing for about 2 years now. I just got my first double yolk a week or so ago. It was one of those eggs that you look at and then look at the chicken and go OUCH! that had to hurt. Looked like it came from a goose. Anyway I cracked it this weekend for breakfast in front of my 7 year old. Not that he has finally stopped asking the 3 million questions it is your turns to answer them. I am assuming that the double and triple yolks come for the same reason that twins in people do, right? Are there ever more than triples? Are there birds that commonly lay doubles? Is there anything that you can do to better your odds?
    [​IMG]

2. Guitartists

Guitartists Resistance is futile

Mar 21, 2008
    Michigan
    someone had posted once that a guy at their farmer's market sold all double yokers, and I believe someone said that some hens can be more prone to laying double yolks.

3. Matt A NC

Matt A NC Overrun With Chickens

Feb 22, 2007
    Morganton, NC
    Quote:If I remember the record books right, I think the record is 7 yolks in a single egg.

Matt

4. mommy9994

mommy9994 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 10, 2008
    central VA
    someone had posted once that a guy at their farmer's market sold all double yokers