1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Drake behaviour question

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by julia305, Oct 5, 2015.

1. julia305

julia305 Out Of The Brooder

May 29, 2015
    London, United Kingdom
    Hi all

My drake likes to follow me round sometimes in the garden and when i sit with him he does it too - he starts "beaking" me all over my legs. you know like they do when they are rooting round in the grass for food. Its definitely not aggressive I love it and it tickles when he does my feet lol. I was just wondering what kind of behaviour he is exhibiting or maybe he's just searching me for treats :)

2. MissionBantam

MissionBantam Out Of The Brooder

Oct 5, 2015
    Australia
    Hmm.. Im not a professional but i do own a drake, and let me just say are you lucky! neither of my ducks will come any where near me, lol.

anyway, onto answering the question, i'd say your ussumption would be the most likely, if you hand feed him and what not- I don't know if i'd suggest letting him do it a lot though, as he might take that as a sign its Ay-ok to do it and do it harder, to the point of it hurting. I recommend just making sure you don't give him treats while he does it, as he might do it a lot just to get treats, and if he starts doing it harder to gently push him off your lap, after doing that for a while he'll very likely stop.

Enjoy your Drake! :)

3. julia305

May 29, 2015
    London, United Kingdom