Dripping Noses, no other symptoms - respiratory?

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by lelisabeth, Jul 13, 2009.

1. lelisabeth

lelisabeth Songster

Apr 20, 2009
    Elverson, Pennsylvania
    My chicks (20 weeks old) have had dripping noses for over a week now. No other symptoms that I know of. This is my first time with chicks, and I am still learning a lot, is there anything else to look for, or anything I can do to prevent illness? Is a drippy nose a bad thing, or can it be normal? I notice it when I am feeding them by hand and they are pecking. I'll get little drips on my hand, brown from dust I guess.

Actually, now that I think of it, there may be another symptom. They have diarrea looking poop that really stinks. Wasn't always like that, today was the first time I saw it, and 3 of the four had it. I put ACV in their water about twice a week, but that's all that I've done so far.

Last edited: Jul 13, 2009
  2. threehorses

threehorses Songster

Apr 20, 2009
    Houston
    It could be viral, fungal, bacterial, or a nutritional deficiency like vitamin A deficiency. Until you see more symptoms (not including diarrhea - see below), I'd support their immunity, boost their nutrition, and do some prevention things and hope if it IS something that they will fight it and develop an immunity. Antibiotics won't prevent birds from becoming carriers, but they can be harsh on a bird and also their digestive tract.

I'd eliminate the possibility of environmental causes - like mildew in the bedding, musty air, etc. Get them in the sunshine (carefully because of the heat) and fresh air. Clean all the waterers, etc, just in case.

Make sure they're eating grower or grower feed transitioning into laying feed if their combs are starting to fill out and turn red. Make sure now that they have oyster shell available to start building their calcium.