Dropping Eggs all over

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by basketmom, Dec 14, 2009.

1. basketmom

basketmom Out Of The Brooder

Nov 6, 2009
    Hi everyone,

I have a question. I am new to raising chickens. I have 10 chickens and and they are 5 months old and started laying about 4 weeks ago. However, once in awhile I will find a egg on the floor, by the pop door, and today in the outside run. Maybe once a week I am finding one egg like that. I am averaging 6 eggs a day out of the nesting boxes. So I guess my question is, why am I finding an egg in weird places, and how do you figure out who it is, and how do you change it? Or is this normal with chickens and something I shouldn't worry about.

2. jrleader99

jrleader99 Chillin' With My Peeps

I think that it is a matter of time before they consistently lay in the nest boxes. I was having a similar issue during the summer when my birds started laying. Actually they were burying them in the corners of my coop under the roosts so I had to go digging in the straw to find the little treasures. Finally they have stopped that and they are all laying in the nest boxes.

Another thought is that maybe they don't find the nest box comfy. Make sure that there is plenty of bedding in there and possibly place it in a dark corner. I have also seen where people will put something over the next box opening to give them more privacy - kind of like the doors on bathroom stalls (just kidding).

Good luck and enjoy.

3. meathook

meathook Out Of The Brooder

May 21, 2009
    Our ladies just started laying on Friday. We haven't had any in the nest box yet. Two hard shells by the person door and three soft shelled eggs have been found on the chicken wire that is over the poop board under the roost. I hope they figure it out soon.

4. dacdeihl

dacdeihl Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 24, 2009
    NorthEast, In