Dubbya The Turkey is MEAN!!!!

Discussion in 'Turkeys' started by Calebs Acre, Apr 18, 2009.

1. Calebs Acre

Calebs Acre Chillin' With My Peeps

May 17, 2008
    Long Island
    Sometimes I am soooooooo stupid! I went to my feed store today and was totally swept up in the beauty of a pair of adult turkeys that I HAD to have them. They are bronzes and I have NO EXPERIENCE WITH TURKEYS...NONE! So, Dubya and his wife, Laura were put in my dog crate in the back of my truck and as I am driving away, the guy at the feed store "mentioned" that I should be careful of Dubbya because he was "protective" of Laura.

THIS TURKEY IS MEAN!!! He pecks if you get anywhere near either of them!! I was trying to give them water and Laura really wanted it, but Dubbya was pecking at me to keep me from getting anywhere near the opening.

The guy at the feed store told me that he would calm down once he "got used to me." I am not used to this type of reception. I might be eating him really soon (If he doesn't eat me first!).

Do I stand any chance of making any headway with a mean turkey? Any tips or tricks?

I love my runners and my geese. I should have left turkeys alone! By the way, Laura is very, very sweet.

2. bkvail

bkvail Chillin' With My Peeps

I would wear gloves when trying to feed them so you don't get injured - maybe have an early turkey dinner if he doesn't wise up! LOL [​IMG] From what I've heard, it's not common for turkeys to be mean - do you have a good size enclosure to put them in?

3. Calebs Acre

May 17, 2008
    Long Island
    Yeah, we wore gloves, but Dub acually bit right through my husband's glove and that really ticked off the husband. Right this moment, they are in a smaller pen until they pass "quarantine"...then they will go into a nice sized pen....if not eaten before then.

4. Harp Turkey Ranch

Harp Turkey Ranch Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 18, 2008
    McCleary, WA