Duck Attack

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by Dot's Chooks, Aug 21, 2010.

1. Dot's Chooks

Dot's Chooks New Egg

Jun 20, 2009
    I am fairly new to BYC, I have had chickens, ducks, and turkeys now for over five years. I have lost several animals to dogs, coyotes, and other predators. My ducks were attacked the other night, and my female, Daisy....has sores on her tail and her leg. They have flies, and maggots on them. I rinsed them with water, cleaned them with peroxide, rubbed Betadine and Bacitracin in the wounds. She is eating and drinking. I have placed her in a fenced in area, with a small baby pool....and a large box with straw. She is not moving around a lot, but is alert. I am wondering have I done all that I can do? Any responses would be greatly appreciated.

2. duckluv

duckluv Overrun With Chickens

Aug 20, 2010
    Ohio
    I'm not sure how to help Daisy exept to keep an eye on her. How secure is your duck pen? Do you have Nite-Guard?

3. vetgirl00us

vetgirl00us Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 28, 2010
    Rome, GA
    Make sure you get ALL the maggots and fly eggs off and keep them off. Maggots will get under their skin and eat them from the inside out so you need to be sure they are off.

4. gretchenhau

gretchenhau Chillin' With My Peeps

May 15, 2008
    Lebanon Ohio
    The maggots have to go.

When my duck was attacked, we kept a small fan in the area to keep flies out, they didn't like the breeze. She recovered nicely.

5. GrumpyOldMan

GrumpyOldMan Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 7, 2010
    SE Louisiana
    Quote:Question, not a contradiction or argument. I though maggots would only eat dead tissue, they’ll get into and eat the living tissue?

6. Dot's Chooks

Dot's Chooks New Egg

Jun 20, 2009