Duck concerns

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by Duck stepmother, Aug 18, 2014.

1. Duck stepmother

Duck stepmother New Egg

Aug 18, 2014
    I am new to ducks. My daughter left me two Peking ducks when she moved states. I have a regular suburban backyard and keep them with a kiddy paddling pool about 6 ft diameter.
    Problem 1. I am not sure if their behavior to me is aggressive or friendly or starving. The always follow me round making hissing noises and snaking and bobbing their heads. Some times the bigger one (Antoinette, who we think is male) pecks at my legs and feet especially if I am walking away. Sparky (who is 1/3rd the size of Antoinette, and who Antoinette definitely thinks is a female) is more friendly as she lets me pet her, but she does the same head movements as Antoinette. My question is Do they hate me? I give them lots of worms!!

Problem 2. Food. At first we got formulated pellets from the TWRC, but can't get those any loner and got crumbles of formulated duck food (Purine flock raiser) that they don't seem to like. I just got some Purina Scratch grains, that looks much more delicious, but they don't seem very interested. They don't like kitchen scraps. Are they starving?

Problem 3. Cleaning out the kiddy pool every 2 days is a pain. Is there a better way? I was thinking of a stock tank with a drain at the bottom, but very expensive to ship

Problem 4 Initially they would go to bed in a small plastic container, but now they won't go in it and sit out in the middle of the lawn all night. is this why they are psychotic? Do I need to buy them a coop?

2. Onlyducks

Onlyducks Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 16, 2014