Duck coop... help and a question about running away

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by superchemicalgirl, Oct 2, 2011.

1. superchemicalgirl

superchemicalgirl HEN PECKED

Jan 10, 2010
    Vacationland, Maine
    Please help me with my duck coop. I've got 2 mallard x call crosses. This is my first time ever raising ducks. They're currently in a 3 x 4 foot coop that was built quickly out of scraps for adolescent geese earlier this summer. From what I've read on ducks seems like they don't really need a major enclosure like chickens do and prefer more open air. Is what I have ok? Any suggestions (besides clean the duck water... I do multiple times per day and I did less than 4 hours ago - they enjoy making me look like a liar).

Inside:
    [​IMG]

Front:
    [​IMG]

Side1:
    [​IMG]

Side2:
    [​IMG]

Also, I want their "coop" to remain somewhat small so it's mobile(ish). I've been moving it every few days to a new spot of earth. I probably won't be able to do that in winter, though, once it's frozen to the ground.

I also have a question about ducks and free ranging. I'm nervous to let them out of the coop because they still don't seem to like me very much (although they don't shriek in terror every time I come near now) and I'm worried because the reason I no longer have geese is because they ran away the second I let them out of their coop. I'm certain the ducks will do that, too. However, I'd like to (this spring) be able to use a large kiddie pool I have for the ducks. Obviously that is not going to fit in their coop or any mobile run I might construct in the future. Do ducks absolutely need a run? When do you know they're not going to run off?

Thanks for any help.

2. AnnaLease

AnnaLease Chillin' With My Peeps

May 10, 2011
    I think the coop looks fine, but maybe a little on the small side of things...?