Duck coughing, unable to lift left wing.

Macjjo

Chirping
Dec 19, 2021
Hi, so I’ve been handling a Black Swedish for 8 years, who’s suddenly suffering some kind of wing injury and is coughing a LOT. He never had angel wing, but struggles to keep his wings in his down, which I recognize is a stress issue. I understand he is old, and in fact recently lost his adoptive brother two months prior, but I don’t know what could cause him to suffer all of these issues at once.

I appointed a vet for tuesday, and will document whatever symptoms he shows between then if so, but just now he seems to be more hoarse with his quacks. He still eats, socializes, and acts normal, but the symptoms he shows are very alarming.

I fear that he’s become depressed since losing the other bird, Rock, who had passed back in October, which led to him being more susceptible to health issues with his age. He’s been around other ducks, and Rock’s former mate has been there with him, but he’s still shyer than most of the other ducks, with his two daughters even picking on him.

Any help would be welcome in the meantime.

Attachments

• 20FFC22E-8740-4835-A3C5-E20BDBA2A94E.jpeg
    20FFC22E-8740-4835-A3C5-E20BDBA2A94E.jpeg
    842.9 KB · Views: 27
  • C7C9F8C0-7D54-446B-9402-D95ADDBC550C.jpeg
    C7C9F8C0-7D54-446B-9402-D95ADDBC550C.jpeg
    285.7 KB · Views: 5
  • C148200E-7966-4DAE-B309-A87039323322.jpeg
    C148200E-7966-4DAE-B309-A87039323322.jpeg
    866.9 KB · Views: 5
  • 98569926-78C5-4FDB-857B-6D6954464F61.jpeg
    98569926-78C5-4FDB-857B-6D6954464F61.jpeg
    399.6 KB · Views: 7
Hi, so I’ve been handling a Black Swedish for 8 years, who’s suddenly suffering some kind of wing injury and is coughing a LOT. He never had angel wing, but struggles to keep his wings in his down, which I recognize is a stress issue. I understand he is old, and in fact recently lost his adoptive brother two months prior, but I don’t know what could cause him to suffer all of these issues at once.