Duck eggs day 30 and nothing!

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by allidelgado, Apr 19, 2017.

1. allidelgado

allidelgado New Egg

Apr 19, 2017
    Hello fellow hatchers!

I would love some advice here. I have 8 duck eggs in my Hova-Bator and today is day 30 (counting the half day we put them in in the afternoon). They all seem healthy and alive. They are moving, rocking, and jerking around. My concern is that there are no noises coming from the eggs, which leads me to think that they haven't internally pipped yet. Do they always chirp after they pip internally? I filled all of my troughs (4 of them) for lockdown 5 days ago. I refreshed the water again yesterday. They have all seemed well, as I said, they are moving around a lot, but shouldn't I be seeing more signs of hatching by now? This is my first time hatching anything, so I know the options for mistakes are many--but if there is still time to help them (seeing that they are all still moving and alive) I would love any advice I can get!
    Thank you!

2. JudysMuscovy

JudysMuscovy Chillin' With My Peeps

Hello allidelago,
    Don't worry about not hearing anything they are preparing to hatch and 32 days for Muscovy's but I am not sure what kind of ducks you are incubating

3. allidelgado

allidelgado New Egg

Apr 19, 2017
    Thank you so much for responding! I'm pretty sure they're not Muscovy's. We ordered them from the farm store near by and they people there said they were Runners and Pekkings (sp?). I think that is why there is more concern on my part, seeing that those types of ducks should have hatched by now.

4. JudysMuscovy

If you see movement, they should be ok but it's best to let them hatch on their own. I know it's hard to not want to help, lockdown usually starts once you see the internal pip. Then you do not want to open up the incubator. Keep the humidity up once they pip and they will be fine

5. JudysMuscovy

Oh good luck and‚Äčlet us know if and when they hatch

6. allidelgado