~*Duck eggs..I heard peeping in them just 2 days ago*~

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by neener92, Jun 18, 2010.

1. neener92

neener92 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 30, 2009
    I heard peeping in these two egg just 2 days ago...now they are off colored and silent. Are they still alive? :[

Here are some pictures of the two eggs when I candled them......
    Egg #1 [​IMG]
    Egg #2 [​IMG]

Here is a picture I took after I candled them...you can see they are a weird color they weren't this color the other day....the other eggs are some chicken eggs I was candling too.......
    [​IMG]

2. msheets

msheets Chillin' With My Peeps

May 13, 2010
    Hurricane, WV
    I'm not very experienced but the eggs turning colors doesn't sound good, when were they due to hatch?

3. neener92

Aug 30, 2009
    I had about 11 eggs one hatched 2 days ago and the other 4 hatched today the rest of the eggs look about like the 2 in the picture.

4. msheets

msheets Chillin' With My Peeps

May 13, 2010
    Hurricane, WV
    I'm not sure if it would be the right thing to do, but if it were me & with them turning colors, I would tap a hole in the shell where the air cell is. After that if I couldn't tell anything I would open the membrane just a hair to see if I could tell what was going on in there...

5. neener92

Aug 30, 2009
    Would this hurt the babies if they are still alive?

6. SpeckledHills

SpeckledHills Chillin' With My Peeps

May 25, 2008
    Idaho/Utah
    No. If they have been incubating 3 weeks, it should not hurt them.

The hole will make sure they don't use up all their oxygen by staying in there extra long.