Duck Eggs Starting to Hatch but....

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by WalachaFarm, Apr 2, 2016.

1. WalachaFarm

WalachaFarm Out Of The Brooder

Apr 22, 2015
    [​IMG]

Hi Ya'll, My duck eggs weren't due to hatch until April 6th, tonight while checking them, this guy looked like this. There was no typical piiping circles, just a punch through. This egg as well as another are wobbling and moving a bit, and occasionally I hear peeping. Im seeing no peeping on the eggs, should I be concerned? Is this lil fella in distress? I know to let them be and not pick, ect. My humidity is averaging 75%.... Any helpful hints at this point would be greatly appreciated. This is my first time incubating, and I'm really nervous. :) Thanks! Mary

2. sumi

sumi Égalité Staff Member

Jun 28, 2011
    Rep of Ireland
    It looks and sounds to me like those ducklings are getting ready to hatch. I've had a similar experience when hatching some pekin eggs, the first pips started 3 days before their due date, but keep in mind ducklings take up to 3 days to complete a hatch from start to finish. Keep the humidity as it is now, that is good and please keep us posted.

3. Bryam

Bryam Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 19, 2008
    Yup, let thrm be, the duckling will proably stay like that for 24-36 hours before making more progress.

Post pictures, I love baby ducklings!!!!

4. WalachaFarm

Apr 22, 2015
    [​IMG]

Two little ducklings have arrived. One keeps trying to crawl back in his shell & napping. I assume he is a little worn out, so I turned off the lights in that room & am letting them rest while they dry & recover. One more for certain to go. This is stressful! lol

5. sumi

Jun 28, 2011
    Rep of Ireland
    [​IMG] Thanks for the update!

6. WalachaFarm

Apr 22, 2015