duck help please!!!

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by gret, Dec 5, 2013.

1. gret

gret New Egg

Dec 5, 2013
    Hi everyone I'm new to backyard chickens and I can really use some help about ducks. I bought four ducks in the early spring. Two are khaki Campbells and two are pekins. They were all raised together but as they got older my one pekin would attack the other three. I then separated the pekin and the khaki Campbells. Now it seems that none are getting along. My khaki Campbells are attacking each other and my pekins are attacking each other. They are all males and I could really use some help. I don't know what to do.

2. Amiga

Amiga Overrun with Runners Premium Member

Jan 3, 2010
    Southern New England
    Gret, welcome to the Duck Forum!

Is it spring or fall where you are? Hormones can cause some interesting troubles, we have another new member with a similar situation. Most of our members who have all boys seem to do fine as long as there are no girl ducks around.

So I am wondering if there might be a pond nearby where there are female wild ducks, stirring the guys up? Some drakes are just - well - they have bad manners sometimes.

But maybe they need a little extra entertainment. LIke, tying a head of cabbage about 2 feet off the ground so they can tear leaves off of it. Some folks get toys for their ducks. It may sound a little overboard, but seems to me with my flock, they are a little brighter than I thought they would be, so I aim to have a routine that keeps them from getting too bored. Long winter nights, they get a little cranky, I need to take a page out of my own book and set up something in the night pen in the winter.

Maybe the cabbage idea . . . .

1 person likes this.
  3. gret

gret New Egg

Dec 5, 2013