1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Duck questions

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by cutechick53, Feb 12, 2015.

1. cutechick53

cutechick53 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 13, 2013
    Arizona
    Hello, I would like to raise ducks along with the new flock of chickens that I'm getting. I have a lot of questions. Can they live peacefully alongside chickens? I live in the city, are there some breeds that are quiet enough? (I've heard Muscovy ducks are the quietest, is that true?) If they are noisy could I put a rooster collar on them? (I've never used a rooster collar before, are they cruel?) Do they eat a lot? Are their eggs tasty? Does it take a lot of time caring for them? Can I get just one or do I need to buy more than one to keep them company? Is there anything I need to know before I buy a duckling? Thanks!

2. buff goose guy

buff goose guy Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 9, 2014
    Mississippi Y'all
    Muscovys are very quiet because they don't quack its more of a hiss kinda thing. If they get along with chickens it does depend on the ducks personality, and you have to be aware of the pecking order so if a duck does jump on a chicken it might not be a real fight but more assertion of dominance thing.
    I recommend haveing water so they can swim and be happy and all that jazz,
    I don't know what you mean by if they eat alot , but they eat enough to sustain their appeties if thats what you mean.
    Muscovys do lay nice eggs that work well in baked goods.
    You do have to put work in for careing for them, you genuinly have to love them becuase it can be alot of work, but then again its alot of work for all ducks.
    Ducks do best with other ducks but some people say that ducks get along just fine alone with chickens, but i would recommend have 2 ducks.