Duck with growth on nasal

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by Jamal333, Sep 4, 2016.

1. Jamal333

Jamal333 New Egg

Sep 4, 2016
    I have a Pekin/Malard mix @ 3 months old. Yesterday, I noticed this growth on its nasal cavity. It looks like its coming out of the bill tissue but I'm no expert. Today, its slightly larger and is cracking and there is a little bit of blood. Can anyone tell me what it is?

[​IMG]

2. casportpony

casportpony Team Tube Feeding Captain & Poop Inspector General Premium Member Project Manager

Jun 24, 2012
    My Coop
    Welcome to BYC!

I have no idea what it could be.

-Kathy

3. julieholt

julieholt Out Of The Brooder

Sep 3, 2016
    from what ive been looking up it could be a bacterial infection that may have started from a cut people have suggested to try epsom salt solution in a flannel or kitchen towel over the area. IM NOT A VET OF ANY KIND but i would recommend taking him to see a vet to make sure its not more as its got larger and started to crack.
    sorry i cant be of more help hope he gets better soon

4. FARMER3112

FARMER3112 Out Of The Brooder

Jul 23, 2016
    California
    Something could be stuck my ducks never had the problem [​IMG] check it out....

5. Jamal333

Jamal333 New Egg

Sep 4, 2016
    I have put antibiotic creme on it for now and drained the duck pool since the ducks tend to dirty it so quickly. I don't see anything stuck in its nasal cavity but that doesn't mean there isn't anything there and it got infected. I will check on it tomorrow and look up a vet.

6. julieholt

julieholt Out Of The Brooder

Sep 3, 2016
    Awsome keep us updated hope all works out well.

7. Jamal333

Jamal333 New Egg

Sep 4, 2016