Duckling in trouble?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by BCJ, Mar 15, 2019.

1. BCJ

BCJ In the Brooder

Mar 14, 2019
    IMG_2353.jpg Hello Everyone,

I have been reading all the posts regarding eggs that have pipped the wrong end and I could use a little guidance. I'm brand new to all of this, including posting on forums.

We have a single Indian Runner duck that may be in trouble. It is likely the only one to hatch from a batch of 21 eggs. Right now it is day 28 (hatch day) and "Flips" is still wanting to live, but I fear time is running out. He pipped straight through (no internal pip) 48 hours ago on the bottom of the wrong end! We left him alone for 24 hours and didn't see any more progress, so we did a quick candling and saw and heard him in the proper air sac, so we put him back in, air-sac-up, the same way we took him out. Early this morning the hole had gotten a tiny bit bigger and we could see movement (we assume the bill) through the little slit in the membrane. I figured we should at least turn him so the pip was up. I've monitored him on and off today and he has not made any progress, just seems to be swaying back and forth (observed through the tiny hole) and an occasional tremble. He does cheep a little when we talk to him, but I'm worried he may be stuck and unable to zip.

He got his name because he was flipping around a lot early on, and now it seems he was able to flip back and forth on the last days before hatching!?? We clearly saw him in the proper air sac yesterday, cheeping away, then this morning poking out the pipped hole. Are we seeing his bill?? Should we be intervening here?

Texas Kiki likes this.
  2. Animals45

Animals45 Songster

Nov 8, 2018
    you could try with a wet paper towel and peel the shell a little.
    I don't know much about this stuff so you could ask @ladybugchickenfarms.

ladybugchickenfarms likes this.
  3. ladybugchickenfarms

ladybugchickenfarms Crossing the Road

Nov 10, 2017
    Inside a book